My Stitch Fix Review

One lesson I have learned in my first couple years of working is first impressions matter. And, and in the professional world, your appearance drives a large part of that impression. But, creating a work wardrobe can be challenging, especially when you’re on a budget and don’t love shopping. Yes, you read that last sentence right. The older I’ve gotten, the more I have begun to dread shopping for clothes. So when a friend from church told me about Stitch Fix, I knew I had to try it.

What is it? Stitch Fix is a fashion retailer who specializes in creating a personalized shopping experience. You fill out a style profile and their personal stylists handpick a selection of five clothing items for you to try each month. No pressure to buy, you have three days to make a decision, and you can try on the clothes with what you already own at home. You can read more about the nitty gritty details on their FAQ’s here.  So, knowing all this, Andrew and I decided that Stitch Fix would be my “everything” present from him this year. After a few “fixes,” here’s what I’ve discovered:

  • What I Love: Receiving a fun package in the mail each month with a surprise in it. Being able to send feedback to the stylist on what I like and don’t like and knowing that they actually take it into consideration for my next shipment. Trying on the clothes with what I already own and having time to make a final decision
  • What I Like: Having a personalized stylist pick out items for me. They have definitely taken me out of my comfort zone at times, giving me items I never would have picked out for myself. This has been great at times but has not worked so well during others.
  • The Downside: It can be a little pricey, which sometimes challenges my frugal side. There are no sales, so you do pay full price for the clothes. However, so far, the clothes have been high-quality. You are also able to set in your profile the amount you are comfortable paying and shipping both ways is covered.

Conclusion, I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a simple upgrade to their wardrobe, as it’s fun and easy to use. However, make sure you either budget money for the clothes or ask to receive it as a gift or special treat.

P.S. If you choose to take the plunge and try Stitch Fix, use my referral link and I can get credit. Stitch Fix gives a special link to each of it’s customers to encourage them to help spread the word. Nothing like some old-fashioned grass roots marketing!

Leave a Reply

